032606pu.jpg

History

Est. 1905

 
032605pu.jpg
 

The Beginning…

Houston-White Co. began as a Delaware lumber and basket mill that emerged in the late 1800’s and was officially incorporated in 1905 by Delaware Senator Henry Houston and William White. The two gentleman saw an opening in the timber business, bringing both prosperity and a healthy job market to the small town of Millsboro, Delaware. As the lumber business grew, they expanded their reach throughout the entire Eastern seaboard and furthered their operations with a second mill in Lumberton, North Carolina. With their lumber company being well established, it wasn’t before long until the two minds discovered a unique method of making agricultural baskets that would eventually have a major impact on agricultural shipping throughout the entire United States.

THE MIDDLE…

Megan Kee, the great, great granddaughter of William White had heard of the notoriety and lore of the once bustling mill from her grandfather, J. Reese White, Jr. who would drive her all across Sussex County, Delaware as a child, proudly pointing out the once timbered properties of the Company and the remains of the Mill itself. He taught her that the tallest trees with the green tops were what he called “money trees”, explaining that as a young man, he would scout the country for tracts of land that had predominant amounts of tall pines that could be milled for lumber. He told her that while he was fighting as an officer in France and Germany during WW11, the mill had become a prisoner of war camp, known for treating the enemy with as much respect as his family would want bestowed upon him if he were captured. Although the mill had been closed for a few decades, it always remained an active business, now dealing in real estate.

TODAY…

In 2017, it was now Megan’s turn to reinvent the company. Having already opened and established the French bistro, La Fable, in downtown Rehoboth Beach, Megan was ready to expand her business with a new venture. A serendipitous opportunity was presented to her and she was offered the chance to revisit a restaurant space that was once dear to her heart. Having a unique relationship with the building itself, she knew that she wanted to invest herself wholly into the concept by continuing her family legacy. With fond memories of her grandfather teaching her how to enjoy a rare steak; which he ate nearly every night of the week, she knew immediately that there was no other choice for her but to continue her grandfather’s company legacy, and rebrand the company as a steakhouse. She took the original company over and converted the operations to a restaurant and today, Houston-White Co. is now 113 years old and counting. The logo is the original one used from 1905 and includes the pine tree tops that her grandfather taught her to cherish many years ago.